

$A C A D E M I C \bullet S E N A T E \bullet$

Minutes

Thursday, April 9, 2020 2:00 – 3:45 p.m. Room E-106

Present: Kim Dudzik, Moriah Gonzalez-Meeks, Karen Marrujo, Rachel Polakoski, Rachelle Panganiban, Lilia Pulido, Miriam Simpson, Asma Yassi, Guillermo Colls, Robert Stafford, Valerie Peterson, Jeri Edelen, Rob Wojtkowski, Camille Jack, Julie Godfrey, Kim Lenox, Lyn Neylon-Craft
Absent: Tim Phillips, Julian Kearns, Jordan Andrade
Other: Manuel Mancillas-Gomez, Donna Hajj, Cindy Morrin, Manahel Soro, Cynthia Luna, Josh Franco, Tania Jabor, Ticey Hosely
Recorder: Taylor Owen
The Senate minutes are recorded and published in summary form. Readers of these minutes must understand that recorded comments in these minutes do not represent the official position of the Academic Senate. The Academic Senate expresses its official positions only through votes noted under "Action." In accordance to the Ralph M. Brown Act guidelines, Senators voting "nay" or abstaining will be identified. All other present members will be assumed to have voted "ave.

CALL TO ORDER: Kim Dudzik, President called the meeting to order at 2:00 pm

I. Approval of Minutes: March 12, 2020- Senate approved minutes with the following abstentions.

M/S Robert Stafford/Rachelle Panganiban. Abstentions: Rob Wojtkowski, Julie, Godfrey, Camille Jack, Jeri Edelen

II. Announcements

- A. <u>Election Results:</u> Manuel Mancillas-Gomez (Academic Senate President Elect 2020-2022; elected during Fall 2019 election), Guillermo Colls (Vice President Elect 2020-2021), Rachelle Panganiban (Senate Officer at Large Student Services Elect 2020-2021), Rachel Jacob-Almeida (Senate Officer at Large Instruction Elect 2020-2021), & Sarah Rodriguez (Senate Officer at Large Part Time Elect 2020-2021)
- B. <u>Part time Senator Election Procedures:</u> Looking for nominations for a Part-Time Senator. Ballet closes at the beginning of May.
- C. <u>Institutional Effectiveness Council Retreat</u>: April 17th 9am to 12:30am (with 8:30am breakfast, if you make it yourself)

III. Information (First readings and updates for future action)

- A. <u>Curriculum Charge Update:</u> Cindy Morrin reviewed the Curriculum Charge. Eight faculty members and a Faculty-at-Large member was added to the committee. The CTE division was revised to CE. Full time faculty designation was crossed out to encourage all faculty to volunteer. Reviewed and will be discussed at next Academic Senate meeting for action.
- B. <u>Curriculum: Diversity Requirement Rubric and Application:</u> The application is now ready. All applications are due in the Fall 2021 semester. Faculty have a whole year to submit courses. Reviewed and will be discussed at next Academic Senate meeting for action.

C. <u>Summer Schedule:</u> Summer classes will all be in online format. Only faculty with online teaching certification will be able to teach in the summer. To get courses approved for online teaching for Summer, deadlines are due May 20, 2020. Online classes for the fall semester are due in July.

IV. Action

- A. <u>Learning Assistance Center Advisory Committee (LACAC) Charge:</u> Kim Dudzik informed that the LACAC made a few revisions to their charge. Athletics, Kinesiology, & Health Education (AKHE) was added as a new division to the charge. For the MSE division, there will be one representative from MATH and one representative from Science. M/S Rachel Polakoski/ Guillermo Colls. Senate approved unanimously, no abstentions. **Motion Passes.**
- B. <u>College Technology Committee (CTC) Charge:</u> Kim Dudzik highlighted a small revision to the CTC. There will now be a faculty representative from the AKHE division added to the committee. Motion to approve CTC Charge. M/S Miriam Simpson/Rachelle Panganiban. Senate approved unanimously, no abstentions. **Motion Passes.**

V. President's Report – Kim Dudzik

- A. *Faculty Kudos:* Jodi Reed and the entire Cuyamaca Faculty for switching to remote format. Honorable mention to Rhonda Bauerlein.
- B. *District & College Committee/Council and Other Institutional Updates*: Kim Dudzik advised faculty to reach out to their students to see what their needs are. Surveys show that students want more communication between the Faculty and the College during this time. Mary Graham has converted tutoring to online for students who need help.

VI. Vice President Report. Committee appointments were announced as follows: Faculty Hiring Priorities Committee

AKHE Scott Herrin CE Pat Newman LTR Mary Graham MSE Miriam Simpson Student Services Ticey Hosley and Rachelle Panganiban

Classified Hiring Priorities Committee

Student Services Amaliya Blumin Instruction Kim Dudzik

Curriculum, GE, Academic Policies and Procedure committee Math F2020 -S2022 Annalinda Arroya

Online Teaching and Learning Committee (OTLC)

Student Services S2020- S2022 Cindy Morrin

Institutional effectiveness Council

AHSS F2020-S2022 Marissa Salazar Student Services F2020-S2022 Cindy Morrin

Resource and Operations Council (ROC)

Student Services F2020-S2022 BethVierson Career Ed F2020-S2022 Brad McCombs AKHE F2020-S2022 Pat Thiss

Student Success Equity Council

AKHE F2020-S2022 Jennifer Tomaschke MSE F2020-S2022 Michelle Garcia Part-time Faculty at Large F2020-S2022 Hanaa Alkasses

Facilities and Sustainability Planning Committee

2 Faculty at Large F2020-S2022 Pat Thiss and Robert Dutnell

VII. Part-Time Officer-at-Large Report. No report.

VIII. Committee Report.

- A. Curriculum: DE Guidelines for online classes, GE Alignment update: putting on hold.
- B. Professional Development: Flex hours credit

IX. Public Comments-

Closed at 3:46pm